What a week!


This week I’ve had exams (well strictly speaking they where from Wednesday onwards to Friday), which has made it hard to blog. Then to celebrate my exams being over (and the fact I had a half-term holiday!) I went away to Brecon for a few days (already Twitpiced one shot). I had quite enjoyed myself up until the Monday (actually I found out on Tuesday night). My MP4 player – a Sumvision ICE 2000 – had somehow managed to get a large crack in its touch-screen, and to make it worse I only got it in April!

My poor MP4 Player

"It ain't broke, but you can see the cracks"

Fortunately I had kept some money back (not intentionally believe me) so I hit the internet to come up with a replacement. After a little while of searching I decided that the Creative ZEN X-FI 2 seemed good (it was a lot more expensive but I didn’t really care by that point). So far, I rather like it. The user interface is quite responsive and it docked as a mass storage device to my Ubuntu Linux laptop without any fiddling. Banshee didn’t recognise it immediately but if you add a file on it called .is_audio_player with a contents of:-

audio_folders=Music/
folder_depth=10
output_formats=audio/mpeg,audio/mp3,audio/x-aac/flac,audio

then Banshee will pick it up next time you mount it. I like the way it manages music with a built-in rating system and despite the screen being smaller than my old MP4 players, it’s still good for watching vids on (only tried with one at the moment). I need to find a way to get it to update the firmware (may end up running the bundled software in virtualbox), but hopefully this player will be a lot better than my old one! My only real complaint is that the bundled USB cable is only about two or three inches long, which is useless for me as the PC with all my music on is a desktop!

Anyway I should be able to blog more often now that my exams are over and a few of them will probably be about this device as I learn more about it :).

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Review – Creative ZEN X-FI 2 (8GB) « Neojames13's Blog

Leave a Reply

